Ross County v Aberdeen


Scottish Premiership 2020-21

The Global Energy Stadium10 Jubilee Park Rd, Dingwall IV15 9QZ, UK

Ross County
4 - 1
Final Score


Where do you start with that epic shit-show?

Derek McInnes made one change to the starting line-up that was due to start at Livingston midweek.  Dean Campbell was dropped to the bench in favour of Sam Cosgrove.

You knew what sort of day it was going to be after we went 1-0 down after 38 seconds of the match starting.  Oli Shaw putting the home side ahead after Tommie Hoban misjudged a clearance, Shaw firing his shot beyond Joe Lewis.

Curtis Main had the first effort for the Dons in the seventh minute, after Matty Kennedy found Scott Wright, Wright then passed to Main, but his effort went wide of goal.

20 minutes on the clock and Ross County went two ahead thanks to poor Dons defending again.

Charlie Larkin was left unmarked and picked up a pass from Harry Paton and hit his shot beyond Lewis.

Just moments later, Sam Cosgrove had an effort but it went wide.

Lewis Ferguson fired in a powerful drive that hit the County defensive wall, and the shot went wide of goal for a corner.

Ash Taylor came off midway through the first half with what looked like a back injury and was replaced by Shay Logan.

Matty Kennedy picked up a cross from Jonny Hayes in the 32nd minute but his shot went straight at County keeper, Ross Laidlaw.

Scott Wright had his effort in the 38th minute blocked, Laidlaw spreading himself to block Scott’s left footed effort, putting it out for a corner.

There was a penalty call from the Dons in the 44th minute, when Sam Cosgrove was bundled in the box by Callum Morris, but referee Bobby Madden waved play on.

Aberdeen did get a goal, but none of our players scored it.

Jonny Hayes hit his inswinging corner which found Tommie Hoban who headed the ball towards goal only for the header to be deflected off Alex Iacovitti for an own goal.

It was an opportunity for the Dons to settle them into the game and push on in the second half for a win.

Aberdeen did keep Ross County in check for the early part of the second half.

Matty Kennedy and Curtis Main both having efforts in the 61st minute.

Shortly after Jonny Hayes went off injured and was replaced by Kieran Ngwenya in the 63rd minute.

Sam Cosgrove had an opportunity in the 74th minute to square the match, bit his poor first touch saw his effort disappear.

Just moments later, Oli Shaw  put County 3-1 ahead, after he picked up a Ross Draper headed cross, and he fired it home.

And just when we thought it couldn’t get any worse, in injury time Jermaine Hylton sealed off a dismal day for the Dons, after Joe Lewis came out of the box to close him down, the ball came off Joe and fell to Hylton who rolled the ball into the open net.

A miserable, uninspiring stale performance from the Dons that would suggest that maybe, just maybe the time has come to call it a day on the McInnes era?


Date Time League Season Full Time
16th January 2021 3:00 pm Scottish Premiership 2020-21 90'


The Global Energy Stadium

10 Jubilee Park Rd, Dingwall IV15 9QZ, UK


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
Ross County22441%Win

Ross County

1Ross Laidlaw Goalkeeper
2Connor Randall Defender
5Callum Morris Defender
6Ross Draper 17 Midfielder
7Michael Gardyne Midfielder
8Oli Shaw 9 Forward 1', 85'
9Billy Mckay 8 Forward
11Iain Vigurs Midfielder
14Jermaine Hylton Forward 93'
15Keith Watson Defender
16Alex Iacovitti Defender 46'
17Regan Charles-Cook 6 Forward 59'
18Stephen Kelly Midfielder
19Charlie Lakin Goalkeeper 20'
22Jordan Tillson Midfielder
23Jason Naismith Defender
24Harry Paton Midfielder
28Tony Andreu Midfielder
31Ross Munro Goalkeeper
43Josh Reid Defender


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan 14 Defender
3Tommie Hoban Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
8Funso Ojo Midfielder
9Curtis Main 21 Forward
10Niall McGinn Forward
14Ash Taylor 2 Defender
16Sam Cosgrove Forward
17Jonny Hayes 37 Midfielder
18Connor McLennan Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder
21Bruce Anderson 9 Forward
24Dean Campbell Midfielder
25Scott Wright Forward 55'
26Miko Aarne Virtanen Midfielder
33Matty Kennedy Midfielder
37Kieran Ngwenya 17 Defender
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder
43Gary Woods Goalkeeper

Past Meetings

Scottish Premiership 2020-21

Ross County
2 - 0
Final Score
Pittodrie Stadium

Scottish Premiership 2020-21

Ross County
0 - 3
Final Score
The Global Energy Stadium

Scottish Premiership 2019-20

Ross County
1 - 2
Final Score
Pittodrie Stadium

Scottish Premiership 2019-20

Ross County
1 - 3
Final Score
The Global Energy Stadium

Scottish Premiership 2019-20

Ross County
3 - 0
Final Score
Pittodrie Stadium

SPFL Reserve Cup 2018-19

Ross County
4 - 4
Final Score
Highland Football Academy

SPFL Reserve League 2018-19

Ross County
0 - 1
Final Score
Highland Football Academy

Game Timeline

18. Oli Shaw
19. Charlie Lakin
2. Shay Logan
6. Alex Iacovitti
23. Scott Wright
17. Regan Charles-Cook
12. Kieran Ngwenya
6. Ross Draper
9. Bruce Anderson
18. Oli Shaw
9. Billy Mckay
14. Jermaine Hylton


RefereeFourth OfficialAssistant Referees
Bobby MaddenKevin GrahamDavid Roome
Stuart Stevenson