Scott Wright

Wright and Cosgrove On Target In Hibs Win As Dons Move Into Third

Aberdeen went into the international break with a win against Hibs at Pittodrie on Friday night.

Two early goals from Scott Wright and Sam Cosgrove ensured the Dons slotted into third place in the Scottish Premiership.

Derek McInnes made one change to the team that lost to Celtic in the Scottish Cup Semi-Final.

Marley Watkins was ruled out after suffering a hamstring tear with Connor McLennan coming in, in his place.

We didn’t need to wait long for the opening goal.  Scott Wright scored in the fourth minute after picking up a pass from Lewis Ferguson.  Scott turned quickly and fired his shot beyond Marciano.

We were 2-0 up in the 12th minute after a Ryan Porteous long ball hit off the back of Lewis Ferguson.  The ball fell to Sam Cosgrove who unleashed his shot and into the Hibs goal.

It was an excellent opening for the Dons.

Ash Taylor had Joe Lewis to thank in the 32nd minute when his clearance came off the top of his foot and Joe managed to. tip the ball over the bar.

Just before the end of the first half, Lewis punched clear a Doidge cross towards goal and collected the loose ball

Into the second half, and Connor McLennan attempted a long range effort in the 47th minute but it flew over the bar.

Sam Cosgrove had a chance just before the hour mark, picking up a Ryan Hedges cross – but Paul Hanlon denied him with a sliding tackle.

Paul McGinn made a sliding challenge on Sam after he broke in on goal in the 60th minute.

There was a Hibs call for a penalty after Matty Kennedy got on the wrong side of Martin Boyle in the box and appeared to push on the Hibs player who went down in the box, ref Euan Anderson waved play on.

Kenny fouled Boyle again just outside the box moment later, an expectant Hibs didn’t get anything from the ref.

In the final moments of the game Ryan Hedges came close, but Ryan Porteous and Paul Hanlon cleared the ball off the line.

A good solid comfortable display from the Dons.


Date Time League Season Full Time
6th November 2020 7:45 pm Scottish Premiership 2020-21 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome


RefereeFourth OfficialAssistant Referees
Euan AndersonPeter StuartAlastair Mather
Andrew McWilliam


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan 18 Defender
3Tommie Hoban Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
5Greg Leigh 33 Defender
6Michael Devlin Defender
8Funso Ojo Midfielder
9Curtis Main 16 Forward
10Niall McGinn Forward
11Ryan Hedges Forward
14Ash Taylor Defender
16Sam Cosgrove 9 Forward 12'
18Connor McLennan 2 Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder
22Ronald Hernández Defender
25Scott Wright Forward 5'
32Ryan Edmondson Forward
33Matty Kennedy 5 Midfielder
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder
43Gary Woods Goalkeeper


1Ofir Marciano Goalkeeper
2David Gray Defender
4Paul Hanlon Defender 79'
5Ryan Porteous Defender
6Paul McGinn Defender 67'
8Drey Wright 18 Midfielder
9Christian Doidge Forward
10Martin Boyle Forward
11Joe Newell 14 Midfielder
13Alex Gogić Defender
14Stevie Mallan 11 Midfielder
15Kevin Nisbet 19 Forward
18Jamie Murphy 8 Forward
19Jamie Gullan 15 Midfielder
20Melker Hallberg Midfielder
22Stephen McGinn Midfielder
24Darren McGregor Defender
25Josh Doig Defender 62'
26Sean Mackie Defender
33Dillon Barnes Goalkeeper