RoPS Rovaniemi

Dons Progress In Europa League Qualifiers After RoPS Win

Aberdeen have progressed into the second round of the UEFA Europa League Qualifiers after a win against RoPS Rovaniemi in Finland this evening (Thursday 18 July 2019).

It was Derek McInnes’  300th match in charge of the Dons and whilst it was far from a comfortable performance, a last minute Lewis Ferguson winner ensured Aberdeen FC continue our European journey.

Derek made a couple of changes from the match last week.  Michael Devlin has a hamstring injury and Scott Wright was on the bench, with a start for Dean Campbell and new signing, Ash Taylor.

It was a far from a simple exercise though, after the Finnish side went ahead in the second minute when Katz played a long ball to Kokko.  Trarik Kada then fired a left-footed shot past Joe Lewis, deflecting off Ash Taylor into goal.  A disastrous start for the Dons.

Aberdeen managed to restore parity thanks to a 26th minute penalty after former Kilmarnock player Sissoko bundled Lewis Ferguson over in the box.  Sam Cosgrove stepped up and confidently fired the ball into Reguero’s net.  All square and the Dons take the lead on away goals.

The game continued to flow in spells of possession for each side and in the 38th minute, Hedges put a cross over to Sam Cosgrove but his header went wide of goal.

Into the second half, and the game continued to ebb and flow between the two teams.

Aberdeen made their first change in the 66th minute, with Curtis Main coming on for Sam Cosgrove.

RoPS continued to push forward towards the latter phases of the game putting more pressure on the Dons, but in a similar vein to RoPS late goal in the first leg, Lewis Ferguson scored a 94th minute winner to ensure the win and progress to face Georgian side FC Chikhura Sachkhere.


Date Time League Season Full Time
18th July 2019 5:00 pm UEFA Europa League 2019-20 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
RoPS Rovaniemi10150%Loss

RoPS Rovaniemi

1Damjan Siskovski Goalkeeper
2Henrik Ölander
3Taye Taiwo Defender
5Kalle Katz Defender
6Atte Sihoven Defender
7Youness Rahimi 33 Forward
8Sergio Llamas Midfielder
10Lucas Lingman Midfielder
11Aleksandr Kokko 23 Forward 30'
14Eetu Vertainen 24 Midfielder
20Juho Hyvärinen Defender
21Matias Tamminen Forward
23Niklas Jokelainen 11 Forward
24Tommi Jäntti 14 Midfielder
25Antonio Reguero
33Agnaldo Pinto de Moraes Júnior 7 Midfielder
34Tarik Kada Forward 2'
88Mohamadou Sissoko


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan Defender 88'
4Andrew Considine Defender
5Scott McKenna Defender
8James Wilson Forward
9Curtis Main 16 Forward
10Niall McGinn 15 Forward
11Ryan Hedges Forward
14Ash Taylor Defender
15Scott Wright 10 Forward
16Sam Cosgrove 9 Forward 26'
17Stevie May Forward
18Connor McLennan Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder 94'
20Tomáš Černý Goalkeeper
21Jon Gallagher Forward
24Dean Campbell Midfielder 75'
26Miko Aarne Virtanen Midfielder