St Johnstone v Aberdeen

Aberdeen Play Out Goalless Draw In Perth

A frustrating evening for the Dons at McDiarmid Park as our midweek fixture against St Johnstone ended in a  0-0 draw.

There was a late change to the Aberdeen bench, after Curtis Main got injured during warm-up and was replaced by Kieran Ngwenya.

Ross McCrorie made a welcome return to the starting XI, and Funso Ojo didn’t make the team, with the likelihood of him closing in on a loan deal with English League One side, Wigan Athletic.

Aberdeen suffered a blow in the opening minutes of the match after Tommie Hoban had to go off due to a head knock after colliding with Ross McCrorie.  Dean Campbell replaced Tommie, and McCrorie recovered from the altercation and moved to the three-man defence.

Ash Taylor was first up to have a chance, but the free-kick he picked up from Matty Kennedy from the right was headed over.

Sam Cosgrove was next up, picking up a cross from Kennedy, but his header was blocked by Zander Clark.

Scott Wright had an opportunity on the half-hour mark, firing a 25 yard drive, that was blocked at the edge of the box and Matty Kennedy saw his 34th minute effort shot well over.

St Johnstone’s Michael O’Halloran had space to convert a Craig Conway cross from the left, but his header went well wide.

Aberdeen went close in the 63rd minute when Matty Kennedy picked up a short pass from Scott Wright.  He fired his shot towards the top far corner of the net byt Clark managed to push it out wide for the corner.

There was nothing of real note  to record for the remainder of the game, with both sides cancelling each other out and seeing out the 90 minutes to settle for a point each.


Date Time League Season Full Time
27th January 2021 6:00 pm Scottish Premiership 2020-21 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
St Johnstone00041%Draw


RefereeFourth OfficialAssistant Referees
Don RobertsonCalum ScottDrew Kirkland
Ross Macleod

St Johnstone

1Zander Clark Goalkeeper
2James Brown Defender
3Scott Tanser Defender
4Jamie McCart Defender
5Jason Kerr Defender
6Liam Gordon Defender 81'
7Craig Conway Midfielder
8Murray Davidson Midfielder
9Chris Kane 16 Forward
10David Wotherspoon 11 Midfielder
11Michael O’Halloran 10 Forward
12Elliott Parish Goalkeeper
13Craig Bryson Midfielder
14Stevie May 9 Forward
16Glenn Middleton 9 Forward
17Guy Melamed Forward
18Alistair McCann Midfielder
19Shaun Rooney Defender
24Callum Booth Defender
26Liam Craig Midfielder


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan Defender
3Tommie Hoban 24 Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender 24'
5Greg Leigh Defender
10Niall McGinn Forward
11Ryan Hedges Forward
14Ash Taylor Defender
16Sam Cosgrove Forward
17Jonny Hayes Midfielder
18Connor McLennan 25 Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder
21Bruce Anderson Forward
24Dean Campbell 3 Midfielder
25Scott Wright 18 Forward
26Miko Aarne Virtanen Midfielder
33Matty Kennedy Midfielder
37Kieran Ngwenya Defender
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder
43Gary Woods Goalkeeper