Stoppage Time Goal Secures Win Against St Mirren

A stoppage-time goal from Lewis Ferguson secured Aberdeen all three points at Pittodrie against St Mirren ahead of the international break.

It was a hard won match, after the Dons fell behind early in the second half after Ethan Erhahon scored a long range goal.

Marley Watkins levelled the match midway through the second half, and it looked as if we were going to finish with a draw only for Ferguson to fire a 25 yard strike to grab the winner.

Derek McInnes kept the same starting eleven that won away against Ross County last weekend.

Jonny Hayes was denied an opener in the 8th minute, after he broke inside the penalty area and hit his shot at St Mirren keeper Jak Alnwick.

The loose ball fell to Niall McGinn, with his shot blocked by Conor McCarthy.

Lewis Fergsuon nearly opened the scoring in the 18th minute, Alnwick blocking his powerful right footed drive.

Tommie Hoban came to our rescue, after Jon Obika played clean through on goal, only for Hoban to tackle him before he shot at goal.

Lee Erwin had a chance just on the stroke of half-time, with his shot going over the bar.

St Mirren got their opener in the 54th minute, after Erhahon picked up a throw in on the right deep in midfield.  He had the time and space to unleash a strike that Joe Lewis had no chance of saving.

In the 71st minute, Aberdeen equalised when Ryan Hedges passed to Connor McLennan on the right of the box.  McLennan slid the ball to Watkins, who hit the shot from 20 yards beyond Alnwick.

And as the clock was ticking down, Lewis Ferguson picked up a pass from Hayes and fired a 25-yard strike paskt Alnwick to give us the win.

It was a close run thing, but the Dons are still in the hunt at the top of the Scottish Premiership table in fourth place, two points behind Hibs with two games in hand.

Aberdeen manager, Derek McInnes said: “There’s nothing better than a last-minute winner. We were relentless in that last 15, 20 minutes. We went for it.

“The players deserve so much credit. When the question was asked, we rolled the sleeves up.

“We can go into the break feeling good about ourselves.”


Date Time League Season Full Time
2nd October 2020 7:45 pm Scottish Premiership 2020-21 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
St Mirren01137%Loss


RefereeFourth OfficialAssistant Referees
Gavin DuncanAlan MuirGraeme Leslie


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan Defender
3Tommie Hoban Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
8Funso Ojo Midfielder
10Niall McGinn 32 Forward
11Ryan Hedges 15 Forward
14Ash Taylor 21 Defender
15Dylan McGeouch 11 Midfielder
17Jonny Hayes Midfielder
18Connor McLennan 25 Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder 91'
20Tomáš Černý Goalkeeper
21Bruce Anderson 14 Forward
22Ronald Hernández Defender
25Scott Wright 18 Forward
29Jack Mackenzie Defender
32Ryan Edmondson 10 Forward
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder 88'
50Marley Watkins Midfielder 71'

St Mirren

1Jak Alnwick Goalkeeper
5Conor McCarthy Defender 43'
6Nathan Sheron Midfielder
9Jonathan Obika Forward
10Kyle McAllister Midfielder
11Ilkay Durmus Midfielder
14Cameron MacPherson Midfielder
17Jamie McGrath Midfielder
19Junior Morias Forward
22Marcus Fraser Defender
23Lee Erwin Forward
25Ethan Erhahon Midfielder 54'
26Dean Lyness Goalkeeper
33Lewis Jamieson Forward