St Mirren Park

May and Cosgrove Secure Dons Win in Paisley

In tricky conditions at St Mirren Park, the 1,040 strong Red Army saw the Dons see out a win thanks to a first half penalty spot-kick from Stevie May and a second half goal from Sam Cosgrove.

Aberdeen made one change to the starting line-up that defeated Livingston 3-2 at Pittodrie on Tuesday.  Connor McLennan replaced Scott Wright who was on the bench.

There was little in the early exchanges between the two sides, as the winter weather tried it best to dampen the game with chances few and far between.

That all changed in the 28th minute when Niall McGinn curled in a 22-year free kick but Saints keeper Lyness did well to pan it out for the corner for Aberdeen.  From the resultant corner which was whipped in by Niall McGinn, Alfie Jones fouled Andy Considine inside the penalty area, with Greg Aitken pointing to the spot.

Stevie May stepped up to take the penalty kick and confidently put it past Lyness for his first league goal of the season.

Just with the Livingston match on Tuesday night, our lead didn’t last long and five minutes later Adam Hammill’s free-kick bypassed the Dons defence and fell to Cammy MacPherson who hit the net to equalise the score.

In the second half Aberdeen regained the lead on the hour mark when a free kick from Niall McGinn found Andy Considine in the box.  His header was pushed onto the bar by Lyness, but Cosgrove was on hand and dived in to head over the line from six yards out for his second goal in two games.

The result means the Dons move up to 4th in the Scottish Premiership, 4 points behind top spot.


Date Time League Season Full Time Attendance
15th December 2018 3:00 pm Scottish Premiership 2018-19 90' 4,699


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
St Mirren10145%Loss

St Mirren

4Stephen McGinn Midfielder
10Cammy Smith 19 Forward
11Simeon Jackson Forward
14Jordan Kirkpatrick Midfielder
15Jack Baird Defender
16Ian McShane Midfielder
19Alfie Jones 10 Defender 30'
21Lee Hodson Defender 60'
22Matthew Willock Midfielder
26Dean Lyness Goalkeeper
27Ryan Edwards Midfielder 37'
28Cameron MacPherson Midfielder 35'
35Anton Ferdinand Defender
39Ethan Erhahon Midfielder
40Cameron Breadner 77 Midfielder
44Adam Eckersley Defender
77Adam Hammill 40 Forward 77'
David Wilson Goalkeeper



1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan Defender
3Graeme Shinnie Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
5Scott McKenna Defender
7Chris Forrester Midfielder
8Stephen Gleeson Midfielder
9James Wilson Forward
10Niall McGinn Forward
15Scott Wright 27 Forward
16Sam Cosgrove Forward 61'
17Stevie May 21 Forward 30'
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder 37'
20Tomáš Černý Goalkeeper
21Dominic Ball 17 Defender
25Bruce Anderson Forward
27Connor McLennan 15 Forward
29Max Lowe Midfielder 59'