Hamilton v Aberdeen

Main, McGinn and McLennan Break Dons Goal Drought

Aberdeen went into this game having not scored in 454 minutes, having failed to score in our last five successive matches – our longest goal drought in recent times, the last time it happened was in 1973 and 1905.

Luckily for Derek McInnes, he didn’t take the honour of being the only manager to have suffered a six game run without scoring, after coming away with a win at the Fountain of Youth Stadium on Tuesday night.

Sam Cosgrove was dropped to the bench with Curtis Main coming into the starting line-up.

Joining him was Connor McLennan and Dylan McGeouch with Shay Logan and Dean Campbell also dropped to the bench.

Aberdeen dominated the early possession, but it was Hamilton’s David Templeton who had the opening chance after lifting the ball over Joe Lewis, but his shot went wide.

The Dons goal drought ended thanks to Curtis Main, after he picked up a long ball on the left from Andy Considine.  He broke past Sam Woods and raced into the box and lofted his shot over Luke Southwood.

Aberdeen went two up, seven minutes later after Niall McGinn picked up a Lewis Ferguson pass and fire his shot home.

The game was stopped for over five minutes after Brian Easton landed awkwardly and injured his collar bone.  He was replaced by Shaun Watt in the 30th minute.

With the first half running down, Connor McLennan made it three for Aberdeen after Andy Considine delivered a fantastic cross from the left, with McLennan picked up the cross and flicking a header beyond Southwood.

Hamlton’s Marios Ogkmpoe picked up a cross from David Moyo, but his header went wide in the 54th minute.

Lewis Ferguson linked up with Niall McGinn in the 63rd minute but his shot was deflected wide for a corner.

Niall McGinn hit a 25 yarder just inches over the cross bar shortly after.

In the 74th minute, Niall’s free kick was picked up by Main in the box, but his header went wide.

Marios Ogkmpoe gave Hamilton a consolation goal ten minutes later with a left footed shot that went past Joe Lewis.

A much better performance from Aberdeen, as we head into the Sunday fixture against Celtic at Pittodrie.


Date Time League Season Full Time Attendance
11th February 2020 7:45 pm Scottish Premiership 2019-20 90' 1,218


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome


2Aaron McGowan Defender
3Scott McMann Defender
6Johnny Hunt Defender
7Will Collar 12 Midfielder
8Steven Davies Forward
10Blair Alston Midfielder
12Sam Woods 7 Defender
13Alex Gogić Defender
16David Templeton 20 Forward
19Andy Winter Forward
20David Moyo 16 Forward
21Shaun Want 24 Defender
22Kyle Gourlay Goalkeeper
24Brian Easton 21 Defender
25Scott Martin Midfielder
28Lewis Smith Midfielder
31Luke Southwood Goalkeeper
99Marios Ogkmpoe Forward 84'


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan 18 Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender 51'
5Scott McKenna Defender
6Michael Devlin Defender
8Ronald Hernández Defender
9Curtis Main Forward 15'
10Niall McGinn 16 Forward 23'
11Ryan Hedges Forward
16Sam Cosgrove 10 Forward
17Dylan McGeouch 24 Midfielder
18Connor McLennan 2 Forward 45'
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder
20Tomáš Černý Goalkeeper
22Funso Ojo Midfielder
23Matty Kennedy Midfielder
24Dean Campbell 17 Midfielder
25Bruce Anderson Forward