Aberdeen v NSI Runavik

Aberdeen Score Six Against NSÍ Runavík In Euro Qualifier

Ryan Hedges scored a hat-trick, the 200th for the Dons in our drubbing of NSÍ Runavík at Pittodrie this evening.

He was joined by Lewis Ferguson, Curtis Main and Jonny Hayes in our 6-0 win, that sees us progress into the 2nd round qualifer.

Aberdeen made three changes to the side following the Livingston match, with Ash Taylor, Shay Logan missing and Ryan Hedges on the bench.

Curtis Main made his first start of the season and Andy Considine returned having completed his two match domestic ban.  Dylan McGeouch also featured in the starting line-up.

Aberdeen created all the opening chances of the first half, but the Faroese managed to frustrate us until late in the half when we went ahead thanks to a 36th minute goal from Lewis Ferguson, who picked up an Andy Considine cross into the penalty area which he headed past the keeper.

Just before half-time, Curtis Main picked up from an impressive run from Scott Wright which saw him burst down the right past Holgaard before putting in a low cross across the front of goal.  Main picked it up unmarked near the back post and slotted it in.

Not long into the second half, and any worries about the tie were over after sub Ryan Hedges was on target after Jonny Hayes made a low cross along the face of goal, which was spilled by Thomsen.  Hedges was on hand to punish the keeper and slotted it in to make in 3-0.

Ryan scored again in the 59th minute with a cracking 25 yarder.

The Dons punished the Faroese side further, after Jonny Hayes fired a 25 yard drive to make it 5-0 in the 63rd minute.

And we rounded off the match with our sixth, when Lewis Ferguson was brought down in the box.  Ryan Hedges stepped up to convert the penalty and score his hat-trick.

It was an enjoyable watch, and we deserved to progress into the second round qualifying draw which will take place on Monday.


Date Time League Season Full Time
27th August 2020 7:45 pm UEFA Europa League 2020-21 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
NSÍ Runavík00032%Loss


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
3Tommie Hoban Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
5Scott McKenna Defender
9Curtis Main 11 Forward 42'
10Niall McGinn 25 Forward
11Ryan Hedges 9 Forward 50', 59', 87'
15Dylan McGeouch Midfielder
17Jonny Hayes Midfielder 63'
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder 36'
20Tomáš Černý Goalkeeper
21Bruce Anderson 50 Forward
22Ronald Hernández Defender
24Dean Campbell Midfielder
25Scott Wright 10 Forward
33Matty Kennedy Midfielder
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder
50Marley Watkins 21 Midfielder

NSÍ Runavík

1Tordur Thomsen Goalkeeper
3Oddur Höjgaard Defender
4Jákup Jakobsen 22 Defender
5Jóhan Troest Davidsen Defender 33'
7Rógvi Nielsen Midfielder
8Jesper Christjansen Midfielder
10Klaemint Olsen Forward
11Búi Egilsson Forward
14Jann Martin Mortensen 18 Midfielder
16Petur Knudsen Forward
17Jann Julian Benjaminsen Midfielder
18Steffan Lökin 14 Forward
20Morits Heini Mortensen Midfielder
22Bárdur Hansen 4 Defender
23Salmundur Bech 27 Midfielder
26Pætur Turiðarson Skipanes Midfielder
27Aron Knudsen 23 Midfielder
29Karstin Hansen Goalkeeper