St Mirren v Aberdeen

10-man Dons Disappoint Again In St Mirren 1-1 Draw

A week on from the disappointing league cup loss against St Mirren, Aberdeen didn’t shower themselves with any plaudits in this 1-1 draw in Paisley in the Premiership.

The Dons went down to 10-men early in the second-half after Lewis Ferguson was sent off, after receiving a second yellow from ref Bobby Madden.

Coming back into the squad this week came Ross McCrorie, Lewis Ferguson and Connor McLennan.  Both McCrorie and Ferguson started with McLennan taking a seat on the bench.

Funso Ojo was also dropped to the bench at the expense of Ash Taylor.  Joining him on the bench was Dean Campbell.

Niall McGinn was ruled out due to a groin injury.

St Mirren had the opening opportunity in the third minute, Ilkjay Durmus providing the threat, but Joe Lewis tipped the shot over goal.

Aberdeen had far more possession in the game, but were not able to take the chances, and St Mirren kept on piliing on the pressure.

Dylan Connolly’s left footed-drive tested Joe Lewis in the 20th minute, but Joe managed to block it.

Ross McCrorie had a chance in the 28th minute, but fired his shot over from the edge of the box.

Joe Lewis was tested again.  A Jamie McCrath corner, was headed to Durmus who volleyed the ball – but is 20 yard effort was blocked by Lewis.

Jonny Hayes scored the opener against the run of play in the 37th minute, after picking up an excellent cross from Matty Kennedy.  Hayes’ header going in at the back post.

St Mirren’s leveller was from the penalty spot in the 43rd minute, when a shot from Jon Obika hit Tommie Hoban’s arm.  A harsh decision for the Dons.  Jamie McGrath scored from the spot-kick to make it 1-1.

Lewis Ferguson was sent off early the second half – Obika ran into the path of the midfielder, which knocked over Lewis, but surprisingly Bobby Madden called it as a foul, issued the second yellow and then the red to put the Dons down to ten men.

Derek McInnes was also booked after complaining to Madden about his decision.

Erhahon went close in the 58th minute, but his headed shot was cleared by Tommie Hoban.

Durmus picked out Conor McCarthy in the 70th minute and was just inches short of making something of it.

Ryan Edmondson had a chance in the 88th minute but his shot was fired low at Jak Alnwick.

Joe Lewis managed to save further embarassment for the Dons, when he raced off his line to collect the ball from Richard Tait.

The Dons are stuck in a rut, our fourth away defeat on the trot.  We drop to fourth in the Scottish Premiership, as Hibs push ahead of us, one point behind Celtic in second following their win against Motherwell.


Date Time League Season Full Time
5th December 2020 3:00 pm Scottish Premiership 2020-21 90'


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsPossessionOutcome
St Mirren10153%Draw


RefereeFourth OfficialAssistant Referees
Bobby MaddenKevin GrahamDavid McGeachie
Paul O’Neill

St Mirren

1Jak Alnwick Goalkeeper
2Richard Tait Defender
3Brandon Mason Defender
4Joe Shaughnessy Defender
5Conor McCarthy Defender
7Jake Doyle-Hayes Midfielder
8Ryan Flynn Midfielder
9Jonathan Obika 23 Forward
10Kyle McAllister 21 Midfielder
11Ilkay Durmus Midfielder
14Cameron MacPherson 25 Midfielder
16Sam Foley Goalkeeper
17Jamie McGrath Midfielder 44'
19Junior Morias Forward
20Kristian Dennis 21 Forward
21Dylan Connolly 20 Midfielder
22Marcus Fraser Defender
23Lee Erwin 9 Forward
25Ethan Erhahon 14 Midfielder 39'
26Dean Lyness Goalkeeper


1Joe Lewis Goalkeeper
2Shay Logan 14 Defender
3Tommie Hoban Defender
4Andrew Considine Defender
5Greg Leigh Defender
6Michael Devlin 17 Defender
8Funso Ojo 11 Midfielder
9Curtis Main 16 Forward
11Ryan Hedges 8 Forward
14Ash Taylor 2 Defender
16Sam Cosgrove 9 Forward
17Jonny Hayes 6 Midfielder 37'
18Connor McLennan Forward
19Lewis Ferguson Midfielder 4', 51'
22Ronald Hernández Defender
24Dean Campbell Midfielder
32Ryan Edmondson 33 Forward
33Matty Kennedy 32 Midfielder
40Ross McCrorie Midfielder
43Gary Woods Goalkeeper