SPFL Reserve Leagues Announced

The SPFL is pleased to confirm that it will operate Reserves Leagues for season 2018/19, comprising 27 clubs across two divisions.

The Reserve Leagues, which replace the Development Leagues, have been introduced following discussions at the Competitions Working Group over the last 18 months.

The Competitions Working Group, which is attended by Malky Mackay (Scottish FA Performance Director), representatives from all four SPFL Divisions and was previously chaired by Ian Maxwell, was of the view that it would benefit the development of young players if they were playing alongside more experienced players on a more regular basis.

As such, there are no age restrictions with regard to participation in the Reserve Leagues (other than a minimum age of 16).

These changes complement recent amendments to loan regulations which provide, generally, that any player loaned out by an SPFL club is eligible to return and play in non-first team football for the lending club.

The first division of the Reserve League comprises 18 clubs, who will play each other once for a total of 17 matches across the season. Fixtures will usually be scheduled for Monday afternoons.

Reserve League 2 is made up of nine clubs, who will play each other once at home and once away for a total of 16 matches across the season. Fixtures will take place in midweek evenings.

Divisional Reserve League Cups will be played to provide additional games during the season, with the format mirroring the Betfred Cup in that any drawn group games will proceed to penalties with an additional bonus point available. Further details on the cup competitions will be confirmed in due course.

It is anticipated that Reserve League fixtures will be published later this week. The first division of the Reserve League is scheduled to start on Monday August 20, with Reserve League 2 kicking off the following midweek.

Participating clubs

Reserve League 
Dundee United
Dunfermline Athletic
Hamilton Academical
Heart of Midlothian
Partick Thistle
Queen of the South
Ross County
St Johnstone
St Mirren

Reserve League 2 
Albion Rovers
Ayr United
Berwick Rangers
East Kilbride
Queen’s Park
Raith Rovers
Stirling Albion