Dons Legends

Further Dons Trio Named For Cormack Park

Joe Harper, Eoin Jess and Jim Leighton join Willie Miller, Neale Cooper and Teddy Scott as the six Dons legends that will have pitches named after them at the new training complex which opens today (31 October 2019).

Over two spells at Pittodrie Eoin Jess made 380 appearances, scoring 94 goals and is widely recognised as one of the most naturally gifted players to ever pull on an Aberdeen jersey. The playmaker won three trophies in his first spell and is the only Aberdeen player to have won the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Over two spells at Pittodrie as a player Jim Leighton made 535 appearances and also served the club over two spells as goalkeeping coach. In the first of his spells at Pittodrie Jim was part of the all-conquering Aberdeen side which won every domestic honour throughout the 80s and famously kept six clean sheets on the way to European Cup Winners’ Cup glory in 1983.

A fantastic servant for club and country the stopper is Scotland’s second most capped player, playing for his country on 91 occasions between 1982 and 1998.

After signing from Greenock Morton in 1969 Joe Harper quickly became renowned as ‘The King of the Beach End’ thanks to his goal scoring exploits and is Aberdeen’s all-time leading goal scorer with 205 goals in 300 appearances spread over two spells. During his time at Pittodrie Joe won every domestic honour, lifting the Scottish Cup in 1970 in his first spell with the club before returning to win the League Cup in 1976 and the Premier League title in 1980.